15 Unexpected Lessons From Depression

This is an excerpt from a really good article by Noch Noch featured on Tiny Buddha. The problems she faced are so similar to what my clients described to me. I am really amazed by her insight into her problem. Just like her, most of my clients are normal people like you and me who live a normal existence. We work, we strive for goals, we party…yet some of us just feel that strange feeling once in a while. 

That shadow that fleets by our consciousness; that feeling of hollowness that echoes in our mind; that sense of helplessness as if we’re just flotsam moving with the currents; the voice unheard amidst the crash of the world. This feeling is familiar to many. It breeds quietly in our subconsciousness and when we least expect it, it hits us like a brick. Be warned: It happens to anyone.

Are there ways to prevent it? Yes there are, though different strokes fit different folks, I agree with Noch Noch that it takes much reflection and time to truly find what may work for you. Follow the link at the bottom of this excerpt to read more about this. Who knows, maybe these tips might help those close to you (:

Uplifting Depression: 15 Unexpected Lessons From Adversity

By Noch Noch

I fleshed out my negative thoughts, amidst pain and crying as I recounted the days and livid emotions in those none months of my worst days of major depression. I searched within my soul.

I asked myself again those fundamental questions on what I wanted in life, what would make me happy, and what my passions were.

Through my self-reflection and writing, I finally learned, painstakingly, in no particular order:

1. Don’t ignore warning signals in your body. Frequent petty colds, stomach aches, and headaches may all be a sign of stress.

2. There is no need to be strong all the time, and even less of a need to maintain an image of strength in front of others.

3. Achievements and titles mean nothing if they’re not something you’re passionate about.

4. Creativity is therapeutic, and it’s in everyone, just sometimes suppressed.

5. We need to matter the most to ourselves—over any job promotion, meeting, excel spreadsheet.

6. Not replying to emails immediately is not the end of the world.

7. We all need spare time for ourselves—time for solitude and reflection.

To read on, click on this link: http://tinybuddha.com/blog/uplifting-depression-15-unexpected-lessons-from-adversity/

Bump!

One response to “15 Unexpected Lessons From Depression

  1. A very insightful read; it described what exactly I went through. There’s a Japanese saying that goes, ”adversity builds character”. And very much so. Thank you for the article! 😀

Leave a comment